Skip to content

one of those weeks

March 9, 2010

I’ve stared at this screen for a while. and truth be told, I’m sort of at a loss for words (shock, Dad, I know). Nothing, but nothing, I’ve made this week turned out right. No swooning into my soup bowl, no salad dressing dripping down my chin, no dipping my fork back into the pan until nothing remains. Apparently, my kitchen has waged a war against me and refuses to produce anything worthy of repeat. The flapjacks burned and congealed, though the salvageable crumbs had a nice toasty, buttery heft. Kale chips were earthy and peppery, but I can think of about twenty more enticing uses for my favorite of winter greens. The mac & cheese bake-off, so full of promise and cheesy goodness, rendered me uninspired, flabby, and breaking out in a fevered sweat from a surplus of dairy.  The improvised farro salad, while chewy and hearty, suffered from soggy potatoes and a meek, wallflower cheese. Additionally, my schoolwork has buried me and, my dog destroyed both a pillow and a quilt and left us with a sea of discarded fluff.

Sigh.

Do any of you suffer from such an affliction? When things just don’t seem to meld and mix like they normally do? What does one do when this happens?!? I feel listless, unproductive, and worse yet, just plain unsatisfied.

I don’t mean to complain. There WERE some high points to the week, as follows:

Taco Tuesday at Bread Soda, surprisingly delightful. Crisp, fresh tacos stuffed with spicy, puckery black beans and hunks of avocado. And ping pong! I am gloriously inept at the game, but the diving and shuffling, the pleasing hollow rap of the ball on the table….it all made for a fantastic, unexpected Tuesday.

Friday dinner at 2Amys. Ember roasted eggplant with smoked ricotta, fava bean puree smeared delightfully thickly on crostini, bright and vegetal, Spring on a plate. Fizzy Gragnano washed it all down, with bite and flourish.

Saturday morning dawned chilly but warmed and mellowed. The dog park bustled. Cold, questing noses. Romping. Walking past a neighbor’s house and stopped in my tracks by their lawn. Blanketed in lavender crocuses, bees swarming and swooping happily, gorging themselves on fresh new pollen.

I daringly ventured forth to the salon, and friends, I cut bangs. I now have a forehead shag my mother would be proud to rumple and pronounce just perfect.

Two words: HOMEMADE RAVIOLI, plumped near to bursting with herbed ricotta. I took a cooking class on Sunday, where we proceeded to whisk and knead and coax tender lumps of dough into three types of fresh pasta. As soon as Kitchenaid pasta attachments are in my possession and I’ve tweaked things a bit, we’ll gather ’round the table and talk.

These guys. I listened to their latest album no less than twenty times, and I am smitten.

I would love to hear about your kitchen successes this week. May your tables be laden with whatever makes you happiest!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 5:58 am

    Yes, I know those weeks well, and I’ve learned to take solace in the ping pong and raviolis of those kind of weeks. Small successes, but success nonetheless!

  2. March 9, 2010 2:19 pm

    When I suffer in the kitchen I go right back to what I know and love, my tried and trues. From there I rebuild my confidence and push forward. Yum, homemade ravioli. :)

  3. Emily Rose permalink
    March 9, 2010 2:24 pm

    The picture of your ravioli looks fantastic! And how fun does your cooking class sound. :) I think sometimes it’s nice to have weeks where things don’t go as you planned…keeps life interesting. And at least you know that the next week will be better. PLUS, I bet you look fabulous (insert italics font) with bangs!!

  4. Daphne permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:19 pm

    My first comment is: BANGS!!! Be still my heart! I’ve been waiting for the return of bangs for a decade (or more?). Anyway, please send a pic poste haste! Sorry to hear about your kitchen woes…I believe that means that true inspiration is just around the corner so do not despair! This past weekend I succumbed to a yen and roasted a chicken. A cage free organically fed whole chicken. Lightly oiled, lightly herbed, and thoroughly roasted – just what I wanted and needed, the ultimate in comfort. Sometimes its the very simple things that just hit the spot. Try something really simple that you really love and it will inspire you once again. Maybe it’s time for ICE CREAM!!!

  5. March 10, 2010 7:21 pm

    Mmm, that ravioli looks divine! One of my favorite foods!

  6. March 11, 2010 4:33 am

    I took a pasta class once and the chef, laura Orso, who was at least 75, would whip up raviolis by hand (no attachment of any kind) in less than 10 minutes.
    Amazing, but that’s what you become after working in a kitchen 18 hours a day for 30 years nonstop.
    So, not to commiserate on your kitchen failings, but dear, we all have them and all I can say is: keep working at it. Besides your raviolis look superb!

  7. March 11, 2010 1:23 pm

    hi, all!

    jessica, wise words indeed. ping-pong is certainly uplifting, especially when accompanied by tacos!

    tracy-great idea. i’ve been a bit under the weather this week, but hoping to get back in the kitchen tonight!

    em-the class was AWESOME. let me know if you want to take one together sometime! and we’ll have to get together so I can show you the bangs :)

    (aunt) daphne-yes, bangs!!! mom would have been so happy. you make that chicken sound divine…too bad I don’t eat it anymore, but it IS such great comfort food….

    jen-mine, too! i can’t wait to start playing around with fillings. i have so many ideas….

    tasteofbeirut-i hear ya. kitchen failings are a part of life! that class must have been an incredible experience. to have that kind of skill and comfort level! and welcome!

  8. March 15, 2010 3:22 pm

    Ah yes, those weeks…I’ve had them both literally and metaphorically-ha!
    Well, here’s to new beginnings, yes?
    Happy Monday my dear.

  9. April 12, 2010 6:53 pm

    the ravioli look beautiful! kitchen success.. nothing better ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Page not found « braise & butter

Leave a Reply

