Skip to content

truth time

October 27, 2010

The truth is long overdue, I’m afraid.

I haven’t been cooking much lately. In fact, I’ve become quite adept at rummaging. I sniff and sift through the tupperwares in our fridge and pile the dregs of lentils, cheese, and pickles on a plate, and Ba-DAH! Lunch. Or, if I’m feeling frisky, I sauté some mushrooms, toss them with pasta and parm, and lo and behold, dinner is served. See, the terrifying reality is that my thesis defense is in less than one month. All pretense of having a balanced life zoomed out the window sometime mid-September, along with summer’s carefree scent of ripe tomatoes, strawberries, and cocktail-swilling laziness. Autumn is my very favorite time of year, but unfortunately this season seems to be all about making it through til 2011 with my sanity and limbs intact.

I’m so wonky and wobbly and out of sorts, that I recently came home from a marathon, fist pumping, latte chugging study session quite late, decided it might be a good idea to throw together rosti (basically, potato pancakes fried with indelicate amounts of fat), and ended up grating some shards of my thumb in with the potatoes. Clearly, all is not right.

I’m pining for the good life again, one that consists of the following:

 

Cheers, all. I’ll see you in December. Wish me luck.

ps: we’re sneaking off to Seattle this weekend!! Quite frankly, I need to get out of Virginia, if even for a day or two, and frolic. We also need to think about where we might want to live when we move there this winter. Would love any and all suggestions/advice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Daphne permalink
    October 28, 2010 10:57 am

    Your priorities seem spot-on to me: do a bang-up job on the thesis. All else can follow and can wait. There will be many, many more Autumns, and there will be ample time to cook, create and share recipes, blog and enjoy the more hedonistic life. For now, mushrooms and pasta sound fine (as a matter of fact, I’ll throw in some sundried tomatoes and that’s our dinner tonight!). Enjoy Seattle, anticipate Thanksgiving, and before you can say “creme fraiche” it’ll be January, you’ll have survived graduate school, and you, CB and Moose will be starting the next chapter of your lives!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

